More Rockingbirds cover copy

The long-awaited fourth album from London’s pioneers The Rockingbirds is released this coming Friday on Hanky Panky Records and launched the following day at The Ramblin’ Roots Revue.

All the songs were written by singer Alan Tyler while living on a boat on Deptford Creek. Some – particularly ‘Down On Deptford Creek’ – an addition to his growing pantheon of London songs – are clearly influenced by those urban, watery surroundings. It was recorded and produced at Famous Times by Sean Read (Edwyn Collins, Dexys). The music features a vast array of instruments – from guitars, pedal steel, and banjos to trombones and trumpets – all played by various members of the band.

Their self-titled debut album was initially released back in 1992 to critical raves. Much-loved equally by alternative music fans, country aficionados, and singer-songwriter buffs, the North London-based outfit stamped their maverick country-rock brand on the young Camden Town scene. Defiantly bucking UK trends of the early 90s, The Rockingbirds anticipated the alt-country revolution and sit comfortably alongside like-minded contemporaries like The Jayhawks , Whiskeytown or Uncle Tupelo

The short version of The Rockingbirds saga is that they released two acclaimed albums but effectively burned out and imploded due to an over-enthusiastic lifestyle However when their label – Heavenly Recordings – threw a birthday festival in London in 2008 The Rockingbirds arose phoenix-like to play the Southbank.

Since then their first album has been re-mastered and re-released. The band has played live extensively and released a third album – The Return Of The Rockingbirds – in 2013. This new one More Rockingbirds tries their method on a new generation; “Being late is better than never”.

The Rockingbirds are: Patrick Arbuthnot – pedal steel, Andrew Hackett – guitar and backing vocals, Stephen Gilchrist – drums, Mark Duncan – bass,
Sean Read – keyboards, horns, backing vocals, Alan Tyler – acoustic guitar, vocals & Patrick Ralla – 12 string guitar, vocals.

Track Listing
1. With You Or Without You
2. When The Winter Comes
3. In The Back Of My Mind
4. Delta Dame
5. I Will Defend You
6. Lonelyheart
7. Down On Deptford Creek
8. Steven’s Asleep
9. Country Music Singing Star
10. Up For Grabs
11. Somebody Who Used To Care About Me