Tag Archives: Fire Records

Wreckless Eric and Rosco (and Amy and Barry) on tour

14 Nov

Eric Sterling

Eric Goulden aka Wreckless Eric is in Europe for a bunch of shows kicking off next week in Cologne and finishing up in the UK in December. His band comprises Amy Rigby, Barry Payne, and Sterling Roswell. Sterling’s going to be opening the shows solo.

Fire Records are continuing their reissue programme on Eric and the latest, out on 1st December, is The Hitsville House Band’s 12 o’clock Stereo. This combo with drummer Denis Baudrillart and bassist Fabrice Lombardo was originally formed to back up the legendary guitarist and bibliophile Martin Stone but outgrew the project, and thus in 1996 12 o’clock Stereo appeared, while Martin went on to release Les Homewreckers with Laurence Barma.

It’s a cracking album and it’s great to have it back. No introduction’s needed for opener ‘Kilburn Lane’ a live staple; then there’s classic country tune ‘Friends On The Floor’, and the rockabilly shuffle ‘The Guitar Shaped Swimming Pool’ (check it out below). Dire warnings of the perils of country living inhabit ‘The Marginal’ and ‘The Twilight Home’, while ‘Miriam’ and her interplanetary romance and Eric’s passion for ‘The Girl With The Wandering Eye’ skirt the borders of teenage perversity; so yes that good.

Touring from Friday next week:

21 Nov: King Georg, Cologne, Germany
22 Nov: Merleyn, Nijmegen, The Netherlands
23 Nov: Le Guess Who, Utrecht, The Netherlands
25 Nov: Hafenklang, Hamburg, Germany
26 Nov: Crystal Club, Berlin, Germany
28 Nov: Blau, Mannheim, Germany
29 Nov: Atomic Café, Munich, Germany
01 Dec: El Lokal, Zurich, Switzerland
02 Dec: La Popartiserie, Strasbourg, France
05 Dec: Purple Weekend Festival, Leon, Spain (The Len Bright Combo)
06 Dec: Purple Weekend Festival, Leon, Spain (Wreckless Eric solo set)
10 Dec New Adelphi, Hull, UK
11 Dec: Broadcast, Glasgow, UK
13 Dec: 100 Club, London, UK
14 Dec: The Prince Albert, Brighton, UK


Hymns – a new Cardinal album after 18 years

5 Nov

18 years after the release of their landmark self-titled debut, Cardinal – the recording collaboration between Richard Davies and Eric Matthews – Cardinal are preparing to unveil their sophomore album.  The new record, entitled Hymns, picks up where their debut left off – well-crafted, layered orchestral pop, with Matthews’ multi-instrumental talents enhancing Davies’ sublime songwriting gems.

Hymns comprises ten new originals, another milestone in the band’s quest to provide the missing link in chamber pop history, following the Beatles and Bee Gees and before Belle & Sebastian, and a worthy follow up to their self-titled debut, a record lauded then, and now, as one of the most important albums of the 90s.

Continue reading

Let’s Go Eat The Factory – A new Guided By Voices album for 2012

4 Nov

Guided By Voices classic lineup to release Let’s Go Eat The Factory, first album of new material in fifteen years.

After a fifteen year hiatus, the ‘classic line up’ of Guided By Voices (Robert Pollard, Tobin Sprout, Mitch Mitchell, Greg Demos, and Kevin Fennell) finishes off its year-long reunion tour by releasing an album of 21 new songs, deliberately choosing to return to what bandleader Robert Pollard calls the ‘semi-collegial’ approach of iconic GBV albums like Bee Thousand and Alien Lanes. Let’s Go Eat The Factory is much more than a mere return, however: sprawling, variegated, heavy, melodic, and yet still recognizably and coherently Guided By Voices in both its literal and mythic senses.

Continue reading