Ultraviolet Battle Hymns and True Confessions is the brand-new album from The Dream Syndicate set for a 10th June release release on Fire Records. Moving further into the territories of British glam and German prog there’s a krautrock, Eno-like ambience, Neu-inspired rhythmic groove, and Californian sun-baked sheen woven into the classic psychedelic, melodic hue.

Lead single ‘Where I’ll Stand’ opens with vintage Krautrock electronic synths blending into a classic Dream Syndicate vibe – not so far removed from ‘Tell Me When It’s Over’ – with touches of Bowie’s opening song on Scary Monsters ‘It’s No Game’.

It feels like an attempt–via the lyrics and the circular chord progression–to impose some kind of order and logic on a world that was severely lacking in both respects at the time.” Steve Wynn

Ultraviolet Battle Hymns and True Confessions features singer/songwriter/guitarist Steve Wynn, drummer Dennis Duck, bassist Mark Walton, lead guitarist Jason Victor plus their newest member Chris Cacavas on keyboards (you remember him from the 1980s Los Angeles band Green On Red), plus guest appearances from Stephen McCarthy (of The Long Ryders) and Marcus Tenney‘s expressive sax and trumpet work.

When The Dream Syndicate emerged in the early 80s, frontman Steve Wynn declared that “we’re playing music we want to hear because nobody else is doing it” – he added, “I’ll comprise on what I eat or where I sleep, but I won’t compromise on what music I play.”

Both were true. The band was, and still remain, uncompromising.

01. Where I’ll Stand
02. Damian
03. Beyond Control
04. The Chronicles of You
05. Hard to Say Goodbye
06. Every Time You Come Around
07. Trying to Get Over
08. Lesson Number One
09. My Lazy Mind
10. Straight Lines