Fire-TheChills-Scatterbrain-LP-Coverideas.indd

The Chills have recently announced the upcoming release of their seventh studio album Scatterbrain. Due out on May 14th from Fire Records, who last year gave vinyl re-issues to two of their vintage classic 90s collections Submarine Bells and Soft Bomb, it’s trailed as a glorious self-examination of Martin Phillipps’ songwriting, and a thought-provoking and evocative stock-take from a man who has lived through good times and bad.

Martin ponders: “as I’m facing mortality and lurching closer to the grave I get to wondering how much of my predicament is the fault of my own designs and how much has been influenced by forces beyond my control”.

In anticipation of the album there’s a new single ‘Destiny’ – the second track to surface from Scatterbrain – ` perfect candid observation on just how we’ve messed things up.

Accompanying the track, the ‘Destiny’ live music video captures an unseen performance at the Festival Of Lights in New Plymouth, New Zealand from just a few weeks ago. Filmed by the Likuid Media and recorded by Michael Holland it is also a preview to a special on-demand concert stream Worlds Within Worlds – The Chills Live From New Zealand that showcases on 31st March as part of the Baptism Of Fire video series with proceeds going towards their international touring in 2022.

Chills

Underpinned, as ever, with catchy melodies and an incisive turn of phrase; Scatterbrain takes a mature look at matters arising with a side order of perspective. A landmark album from one of the great modern song writers, it’s pure pop music for the new normal and we can’t wait to see how it ends…

The Chills ‘Worlds Within Worlds – The Chills Live From New Zealand’ streams on 31st March via NoonChorus (3PM ET / 12 PM PT / 8PM UK)

More info here

Chills gig