Perhaps the most essentially Canterbury of Gare Du Nord’s roster Picturebox follow up 2016’s Songs of Joy with a new album Escapes on 21st September.

Songwriter Robert Halcrow (bass, keys, guitar& lead vocals), Ben Lockwood (guitar, vocals), Alex Williams (guitar) and Ian Button (drums) are joined by Jack Hayter (violin on ‘The Vicar’s Dog’) and Mathew Dutra (harmonica, guitar, piano on the co-written ‘GNER’) for the new collection.

Comprising ten tracks, the songs largely concern escape from somewhere or something, being on the move, successfully or not, through choice or otherwise. The album also includes two adverts in ‘Secret Escapes’ and ‘Nice Boys’ Mobile Disco’. Live favourite ‘I Got The Pox’ completes the set, which has been recorded with an emphasis on simpler, live arrangements.

The CD version comes in a limited edition one-off, hand finished, die-cut cover with credits insert.

Made in Canterbury, Escapes combines an unabashed enthusiasm for pop tunes and indie hits with Syd era psych, Canterbury Scene and lo-fi. Pop music with rough edges.

Picturebox are playing with Mikey Collins and Jack Hayter at The Ballroom, Canterbury on 27th September.

Pre-order here and listen to ‘Stumble’ now.