Glenn Jones

To be released by Thrill Jockey on 24 August, unparalleled instrumentalist Glenn Jones’ new album The Giant Who Ate Himself and Other New Works for 6 & 12 String Guitar. As a masterful raconteur Jones’ guitar work is both complex and sublime, intricate and emotional. His deep knowledge of the world of American Primitive music and his abilities on the fretboard have made Jones a pillar in his community. Here’s the album’s first single ‘The Sunken Amusement Park’, according to Jones “an evocation of images of the amusement parks and boardwalks of the New Jersey Coast submerged by Hurricane Sandy in 2012.”

The album elicits memories of Jones’ friends and collaborators of the past, from the late Jack Rose to record collector Joe Bussard, and Jones’ longtime mentor and friend John Fahey, whom the album is named after. Recently, Jones co-organized and performed at the Thousand Incarnations of the Rose Festival, which gathered some of the most innovative and acclaimed stringed instrument players in the country.

Track Listing:

1. The Giant Who Ate Himself
2. Everything Ends
3. The Last Passenger Pigeon
4. The Was And The Is
5. A Different Kind Of Christmas Carol
6. River In The Sky
7. From Frederick To Fredericksburg
8. Even The Snout And The Tail
9. Elliot Audrey, Born Today
10. The Sunken Amusement Park